A Review: ‘16 Lighthouse Road’.


For my birthday last month, one of my best friends bought me a book to read (Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner) and she told me she bought herself a copy, so we could both read it and discuss it.

I loved this idea!

The book was so good we got through it quick and had fun discussing it along the way. I really enjoyed having our own little book club so much that I started searching for another book we might both enjoy reading.

While I found a few books that sounded good, I kept seeing previews on the Hallmark Channel (I watch The Golden Girls every day) for a new TV series based on Debbie Macomber’s “Cedar Cove” series. The previews looked so good!

I asked my friend if she’d heard of it, and looked up the information on the book series to see if it was worthwhile. The “Cedar Cove” series is made up of 12 books—I asked my friend if she was down for the commitment, and she said she was.

We both started reading the first book, 16 Lighthouse Road, right before the TV series premiered. To my relief, both of us have loved reading the books (we are already on book 3) and it’s such a treat to get to watch the TV series right along with our reading.

While I’m positive I’ll be writing about the other books in the series, I’ll just recap the first one today.

16 Lighthouse Road is the first book in the Cedar Cove series, which takes place in the small town of Cedar Cove, Washington.

The book revolves around the town’s characters, including family court judge Olivia Lockhart. Right away, the reader gets a taste of the drama when Olivia denies a divorce petition for Cecilia and Ian Randall…and then the whole town finds out via the newspaper, when new-to-town editor Jack Griffin writes an article on it.

But the other people in Olivia’s life—her daughter, her mother, and her best friend Grace—all have stories and struggles of their own that the book explores.

Each chapter gives a little taste of each character’s progression, even tying some loose ends when the book comes to a close. But even in the final pages, there are many questions left unanswered, which makes it really easy to pickup book two!

The Cedar Cove television series airs every Saturday night on the Hallmark Channel (they show reruns on Sundays) at 8 p.m. EST …it’s worth a watch if you’re not a big reader!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s